Here In The Hole by Grady

Posted: January 10, 2013 in Poems

Here in the hole, I sit and reflect,

stare at the ceiling or stare at the wall,

read throwback books, the Bible and write.

It’s what you do when you’re here in the hole.

Every day that goes by is just another day closer,

so each day I try to get through one more.

I try to make it easy while others make it harder.

We each do our jobs for sure.

 

Right now, I’m in the hole pending a hearing.

Got caught with some fine Happy New Year’s wine.

No worries, the outcome won’t have any bearing

on the ten years left I have on my time.

Seven years ago, I started twenty.

Now with gain time there’s about ten left.

Like seven years ago, my team was plenty.

Now thogh, love has filtered all but the best.

 

I got what I need and I count my blessings.

I’m thankful for my family and health.

I roll with the punches and learn my lessons;

my wisdom is God given wealth.

And here in the hole, I sit and reflect,

stare at the ceiling or stare at the wall,

read throwback books, the Bible and write.

It’s what you do when you’re here in the hole.

   by Grady

Leave a Reply

