12 Years by Chris G.

Posted: December 11, 2011 in Poems

Middle of the night and I’m at it again.
I hope you don’t mind that I picked up this pen
and decided to write you down this little song
hoping that you’ll see that you got it all wrong,
cause 12 years ain’t that far away,
12 years passes by nearly everyday.
Turn around and ask yourself, where has it gone?
Cause 12 years really just ain’t that long.

I always read your letters when I’m feeling down.
I hope you don’t mind that I keep them around.
I look at your pictures for hours on end
wondering if I’ll ever get to see you again.
I know alot can happen in 12 years time,
but not much changes in our hearts and minds.
I’ve been through hell, now I’m ready for some heaven
and don’t look now, but 12 is almost eleven,
and 12 years ain’t that far away.
No, 12 years ends almost everyday.
Turn around and ask yourself, where has it gone?
Cause 12 years really just ain’t that long.

by Chris G.

Leave a Reply

