A Slow Arrival by Chris G.

Posted: January 30, 2011 in Poems

There goes the sun again.

I’m in for another long night.

I brace myself against the wind

and hope to make the wrong right.

Loneliness becomes the cold

and hope barely makes it better.

My calloused heart is getting old

and naked against the weather.

Along the frozen earth I go,

my foot prints close behind me.

My trail is covered by the snow

and the vast emptiness will blind me.

On the horizon a promised dawn

keeps me in denial.

The memories of warmth and sun

fuels my slow arrival.

Leave a Reply

