Demon Inside by Bill MacConnell

Posted: October 17, 2009 in Poems
I’ve been treated like the devil,
you can see it in my eyes,
from the years of costant torment
and the wicked they divise.
 
I’ve been caged up like an animal,
as if I had no heart,
while a demon grows inside me
that could pull their flesh apart.
 
Never knowing peace or mercy,
only hate and bitter pain.
It could set a man on fire
while it dared the sky to rain.
 
There’s a monster deep inside me
and my soul’s become its cage,
where he lives upon my misery
and thrives upon my rage.
 
He’s my only true companion
and he gives me inner peace
until the day the cage breakes open
and the savage is released.
 
    by Bil MacConnell

Leave a Reply

