The War on Drugs by Chris G.

Posted: December 21, 2007 in Poems
The War on Drugs
 
In the war on drugs, I fought for the South.
My sword was a pyrex tube in my mouth.
For the cause I fought with my platoon.
Our bomb was dropped by needle and spoon.
 
In the war on drugs, I bled for the right.
Flashbacks of battle invade my night.
Mentally scarred watching comrads fall.
Literally seen and done it all.
 
A prisoner of war, my battleship sank.
Now just a number name, and rank.
Interrogation tactics for my intelligence,
but I stand firm under my diligence.
 
The war on drugs pit brother against brother.
The front lines at hom; better run for cover.
I earned a purple heart, can’t remember what for.
What happened to my mind? I lost in in the war.
 
 
 
 

Leave a Reply

