Mosquito by Chris G.

Posted: July 20, 2007 in Poems
 
 I once was a major part of your life,
one you fought hard not to lose,
but now out of your mind and out of sight,
to forget me is what you’d choose,
but i’m that pesky mosquito
buzzing in and around your ear,
while you slap and swat and try to squash
the oh so faint sound you hear.
Looking at your palm for my flattened strife
that would be surrounded by the blood
of your own heart which I took in another life;
Is this your idea of love?
Now wipe me away on the leg of your jeans
and pretend there’s nothing to fear,
but what’s that buzzing in the night?
It’s me in your other ear. 

Leave a Reply

